Farewell from Outgoing WCC Chair: Kim Woznack

Dr. Kimberly Woznack

It has been my great pleasure to serve the ACS on the Women Chemists Committee (WCC) since 2011.  After chairing the WCC for the past three years my time on the WCC has ended.  The ACS volunteers I have met have been fascinating, creative and talented people.  The WCC vision and mission are still as important in 2021 as in 1927 when the WCC was first founded. While I will always cherish my years spent on WCC, I am excited for some new ACS volunteer adventures ahead. I look forward to meeting and networking with additional passionate ACS volunteers, while also contributing in new ways to ACS.

Best Wishes,

Kim Woznack

PROF/WCC Networking Session at the Fall 2020 Virtual National Meeting

By Despina Strong and Kim Woznack WCC Chair, Kim Woznack along with the PROF Women Chemists Subdivision Chair, Judy Cohen, cochaired a networking session titled “Women Supporting Women”. The session was held on Monday, August 17. The event attracted over 25 participants. After introductory remarks by both co-chairs, the group had an open discussion. Participants […]

Hidden Histories: Women and Science in the 20th Century: Call for Papers AAHM

The American Association for the History of Medicine issued a Call for Papers for Hidden Histories: Women and Science in the 20th Century. The two day virtual conference is being organized by Dr. Amelia Bonea of the University of Heidelberg and Dr Irina Nastasă-Matei of University of Bucharest. The conference is scheduled for May 7-8, 2021; […]

2020 NOBCChE Lifetime Achievement Award Presented to Dorothy J. Wingfield-Phillips, Ph.D. Dr. Dorothy J. Wingfield-Phillips is serving her third term on the American Chemical Society (ACS) Board of Directors, Director-at-Large, 2014-2022. She holds a B.A. degree from Vanderbilt University in chemistry and a Ph.D. from the University of Cincinnati in biochemistry. Dr. Phillips began her industrial career in 1974 at Dow Chemical Company where she […]

2020 WCC Merck Research Symposium

Written by Despina Strong 2020 Merck Research Symposium Award Winners: Meghan Baker (Scripps), Yujing Zhou (MIT), Qiao Lin (NYU), McKenna Goetz (U of Chicago), Shuwen Yue (Princeton), Rebeca Rodriguez (U of Minnesota), Rebecca Pinals (UC Berkeley), and Susan Knox (Yale/UC Berkeley); Merck Mentors: Drs. Antonella Converso, Kira Armacost, Mellie June Paulines, Ania Fryszkowska, Madeleine Kieffer, […]

Sheila Smith new picture

Iota Sigma Pi Gives 2020 Centennial Award to Dr. Sheila Smith of University of Michigan – Dearborn

Contributed by Anne K. Taylor   FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE   IOTA SIGMA PI, the National Honor Society for Women in Chemistry, has selected Dr. Sheila R. Smith, Associate Professor in the Department of Natural Sciences at the University of Michigan – Dearborn, to receive the Centennial Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching. The award is […]


Iota Sigma Pi Gives 2020 Morgan Research Award to Dr. Jillian Dempsey of University of North Carolina–Chapel Hill

Contributed by Anne K. Taylor   FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE   Iota Sigma Pi, the National Honorary Society for Women in Chemistry, has selected Dr. Jillian Dempsey to receive the 2020 Agnes Fay Morgan Research Award. The award is given for research achievement to a woman chemist or biochemist not over forty years of age. She […]