Other Awards & Recognition

ACS Division Travel Grants

Charles D. Coryell Award for Undergraduate Research in Nuclear Chemistry

Sponsored by: Division of Nuclear Chemistry and Technology

The award honors undergraduate students who have completed research projects in nuclear or nuclear-related areas. Each year there is a $1000 prize to be awarded to the successful nominee(s).

PMSE Graduate Student Research Award

Sponsored by: Division of Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering

This biannual award which provides $500 of partial travel support to graduate student women or underrepresented minority men to attend and present their research at the ACS national meetings.

AkzoNobel Student Award in Applied Polymer Science

Sponsored by: Division of Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering and Division of Polymer Chemistry

This award promotes graduate research in polymer science. Out-of-pocket expenses up to $750 will be available to each finalist to attend the ACS meeting and present his/her paper in the ICI Student Award Symposium within the PMSE program. The award, consisting of $1600 and a plaque, will be presented at the PMSE Division luncheon at the following spring meeting.

Iota Sigma Pi

Student Awards, Scholarships, and Internships

Founded in 1902 and organized on a nation-wide basis in 1916, Iota Sigma Pi serves to promote the advancement of women in chemistry by granting recognition to women who have demonstrated superior scholastic achievement and high professional competence.

IOTA SIGMA PI has an excellent program of awards for women chemists, both professionals and students. All awards have a deadline of February 15. Departments or individuals may nominate one person for each award. All nomination forms and criteria for the awards can be found on the website.

Awards include:

  • Agnes Fay Morgan Research Award ($500)
  • Centennial Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching ($500)
  • Violet Diller Award for Professional Excellence ($1000)
  • National Honorary Member ($1500)
  • Undergraduate Award for Excellence in Chemistry ($500)
  • Undergraduate Award for Excellence by a First Generation College Student ($500)
  • Gladys Anderson Emerson Undergraduate Scholarship ($2000)
  • Anna Louise Hoffman Award for Outstanding Achievement in Graduate Research ($500)
  • Members-at-Large Educational Reentry Award ($1500)

ACS Celebrates the Achievements of Women Scientists in American History

Women’s History Month honors the contributions of women to American culture and society.