Merck Research Award

Merck Logo

The WCC Merck Research Award recognizes eight individuals* who will present their research at an awards symposium held during the Fall ACS national meeting.

Awardees will receive a $1,500 stipend to cover Fall ACS national meeting expenses. They will present their research at a WCC/Merck half-day symposium and be recognized at the Awards Symposium Luncheon and the WCC Luncheon.

2023 Merck Research Award Winners

Alyah Chmiel
University of Wisconsin-Madison

Mikaela DiBello
Yale University

Amanda Graboski
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Christine Hamadani
The University of Mississippi


Aishanee Sur
Texas A&M University

Emily Wearing
University of Michigan

Manxi Yang
Purdue University

Vivian Zhang
Northwestern University

Nomination Deadline

December 1


Individuals* in their 3rd & 4th year of graduate school with a research focus in one or more of the following:

  • Organic
  • Inorganic
  • Medicinal
  • Analytical
  • Chemical Biology
  • Computational
  • Structural Chemistry
  • Related disciplines

Open to US citizens (studying anywhere) and to non-US citizens attending a graduate program in the US or Canada.

Those who have received a prior Merck Research Award are ineligible.


Application Requirements

  • Title, author(s), technical division and text, a resume or C.V. (include permanent address)
  • A copy of her proposed abstract submission for the WCC/Merck Research Award Symposium and the Technical Division abstract (poster or oral presentation)
  • A brief cover letter detailing how this award will impact her career in science (1 page)
  • A letter from her advisor confirming her participation in the meeting at which she will be making her presentation, commenting on her technical ability and potential

*This includes women (both cis and trans) and persons assigned female at birth (AFAB). For more information regarding the gender inclusive language used in this document, please click here